Each year the QuarryNZ Conference holds an Awards night to celebrate success across the industry. Below is a list of the Awards available and details on how to enter and close off dates. Visit the IOQ and AQA websites for more information about each award.

IOQ Awards
The Institute of Quarrying NZ Awards are a conference highlight and amongst others, cover categories including:

  • Institute of Quarrying NZ Award
  • Winstone Aggregates Safety Award – judged on who is best meeting a wide range of H & S criteria
  • Lyn Jordan Memorial Trophy for best technical paper
  • RD Hassed Memorial Trophy
  • Terra Cat Travel Award
  • BR Webster Family Educational Scholarship – towards tertiary or practical learning studies
  • Caernarfon Award – already closed
  • WorkSafe Chief Inspector Safety Leadership Award

Entries are required by Monday 31st May. Any IOQ member can nominate another IOQ member. Nominations should include some background information about the person: current job description, a mini version CV. Entries to – for more details on the awards visit the IOQ website.

NZ Quarrying and Mining Awards
These awards from Q+M magazine recognise upcoming leaders in the quarrying sector.   Several people have won an award in one year, which recognises “future leaders”.  They are each provided with a certificate and $1000 each.  If you have someone showing talent in your quarry, email a brief CV and outline of the person’s achievements and qualities to Q+M Editor Alan Titchall – by Monday 31st May.

MIMICO Environment & Community Award
The industry sponsored MIMICO Environmental Award annually recognises excellence within the aggregate industry for outstanding examples of pollution management, rehabilitation, beautification or other environmental work.

All finalists will receive publicity including written material, promotion at the QuarryNZ 2021 Conference in Wellington, as well as feature on the AQA website.  Full details can be found in the MIMICO Environment & Community Award brochure on the AQA website. All entries and supporting information must be received by Friday 28th May.

Visit the IOQ and AQA websites for more information about each award and details on entering.

Registrations closed

Address for Communications

Positive Events Plus
Melissa Bahler
Event Manager
PO Box 10668
The Terrace
Mobile: 027 664 3080